40 Ways to Beat the Heat

Sure, Marin is full of microclimates, but residents across the county are feeling the effects of the late summer heat wave. A Spare the Air alert has been issued today and while we have an affinity for the number 101, the fact that it’s the temperature Novato is expected reach tomorrow makes us less than thrilled. Even generally moderate Sausalito is expected to reach 87 making the likelihood of another Spare the Air day in our near future a strong bet. Those of us who work in air conditioned offices may not be feeling the burn so much during the day (thanks, Marin Magazine!) but fans are running out and kids are getting out of school early. If you don’t want to take advantage of the beach or check out a movie (I’m always freezing in theaters –– are they affiliated with big air conditioning?) here are a bunch of ways to cool off all throughout the county:

Ice Cream and Frozen Yogurt:

Berry Delicious (Novato), 415.493.6931

Berry Twist (San Rafael), 415.507.1806

Double Rainbow Cafe (San Rafael), doublerainbowcafe-hub.com

Fairfax Scoop (Fairfax), 415.453.3130

Fiorello’s Artisan Gelato (San Rafael), fiorellosgelato.com

The Grass Shack Organic Ice Cream (Tiburon), thegrassshack.net

La Michoacana (Novato), lamich-icecream.com

Lappert’s Ice Cream (Sausalito), lapperts.com

Mag’s Local Yogurt (Larkspur), 415.891.3012

Powell’s Sweet Shoppe (Novato), powellssweetshoppe.com

The Siren Canteen (Stinson Beach), thesirencanteen.com

Silbermann’s Ice Cream (San Rafael,) silbermanns.com

Swirl Frozen Yogurt (Mill Valley), 415.388.2636

Three Twins Ice Cream (San Rafael and Larkspur), threetwinsicecream.com

Tuttimelon (Novato), tuttimelon.com

Woody’s Yogurt Place (Mill Valley), woodysyogurtplace.com

Juices and Smoothies:

Cafe Del Soul (San Rafael and Mill Valley), cafedelsoul.net

Jamba Juice (San Rafael and Novato), jambajuice.com

Juice Alley (Corte Madera), juicealley.com

Juice Girl (Mill Valley), juicegirlmv.com

Juice Shop (Corte Madera), juiceshop.com

Mana Bowls (Fairfax), manabowls.com

Nekter Juice Bar (Mill Valley and Novato), nekterjuicebar.com

The Plant (Mill Valley), theplantcafe.com

Planet Juice (San Rafael), planetjuice.com

Pressed Juicery (Larkspur), pressedjuicery.com

Refresh Cafe (Corte Madera), refreshcafemarin.com

TPartea (San Rafael), 415.892.5161

Urban Remedy (San Rafael and Mill Valley), urbanremedy.com

Pools and Board Rentals:

101 Surf Sports (San Rafael), 101surfsports.com

Bluerush Boardsports (Sausalito), bluerushboarsports.com

College of Marin Kentfield Campus Pool (Kentfield), 415.485.9578

Hamilton Pool (Novato), 415.883.7126

Marinwood Pool (San Rafael), marinwood.org

McNear’s Beach (San Rafael), 415.499.6387

Mill Valley Community Center (Mill Valley), 415.383.1370

McNear’s Beach (San Rafael), 415.499.6387

Sea Trek (Sausalito), seatrek.com

Tamalpais High School Pool (Mill Valley), 415.945.3730

Terra Linda Community Center & Pool (San Rafael), 415.485.3344


Categories: Marin Matters, People+Places