What to Do in June

Tim Porter

6/1: Last day of BottleRock festival (Napa), bottlerocknapavalley.com; White-Hot party (Sausalito), cavallopoint.com/whiteparty

6/3: Latin Fusion Dance at RoCo Dance and Fitness, every Tuesday a.m. (Mill Valley), rocodance.com

6/4: Bay Area Discovery Museum free first Wednesday (Sausalito), baykidsmuseum.org (free)

6/5: San Rafael farmers’ market, every Thursday, 6–9 p.m. (San Rafael), sanrafaelmarket.org (free)

6/6: Friday Jazz and Blues by the Bay, 6:30–8 p.m. thru August 22 (Sausalito), ci.sausalito.ca.us (free)

6/7: Union Street Festival, Saturday–Sunday, between Gough and Steiner (S.F.), unionstreetfestival.com (free)

6/8: Marin Symphony (San Rafael), marinsymphony.org; Dipsea Race, starts 8:30 a.m. (Mill Valley), dipsea.org

6/9: Bring the kids for Pajama Story Time, 6:30 p.m. Mondays (Mill Valley), millvalleylibrary.org (free)

6/10: S.F. Ferry Plaza farmers' market, 10 a.m.–2 p.m. (S.F.), ferrybuildingmarketplace.com (free)

6/13: Full Moon Stand-up Paddle, 8:15–10:15 p.m. (Sausalito), onboardsup.com

6/14: Explore the art and music festivals this weekend in Novato, Fairfax and North Beach (free)

6/15: Take Dad to the Mountain Play (Mill Valley), new.mountainplay.org, or choose a fun event from the list below

6/16: Book Passage author speaker event, 7 p.m. (Corte Madera), bookpassage.com (free)

6/17: Catch Failure: A Love Story at Marin Theatre Company, June 5–29 (Mill Valley), marintheatre.org

6/18: Mount Tam Wednesday hikes, 6 p.m., up to 5 miles (Mill Valley), friendsofmttam.org (free)

6/20: Friday Nights at the de Young, live music, cocktails and art (S.F.), deyoung.famsf.org (free)

6/21: Summer Solstice (SF), sfbotanicalgarden.org; Film Night in the Park (various locations), filmnight.org (free)

6/22: Mill Valley Wine and Gourmet Food Tasting, millvalley.org; San Anselmo Art and Wine Festival, sananselmochamber.org (free)

6/24: Lawrence Hall of Science Xtreme Bugs exhibit, thru September 1 (Berkeley), lawrencehallofscience.org

6/25: San Francisco Giants vs. San Diego Padres, 12:45 p.m. (S.F.), sanfrancisco.giants.mlb.com

6/26: Thursday NightLife at the California Academy of Sciences for ages 21-plus (S.F.), calacademy.org

6/27: Bodega Marine Laboratory tours, most Fridays 2–4 p.m. (Bodega Bay), bml.ucdavis.edu (free)

6/28: California Beer Festival, 12:30–5 p.m. (Novato), californiabeerfestival.com

6/29: Stern Grove free concert series at 19th Avenue and Sloat Blvd., June 22–August 24 (S.F.), sterngrove.org (free)


Father’s Day Weekend

Want to make it a Father’s Day to remember? Here are our top choices for a perfect dad’s weekend.

Does Dad Like…

CARS Tiburon Classic Car Show, Shoreline Park, Tiburon, June 14, 11 a.m.–4 p.m., tiburonclassiccarshow.com

PANCAKES West Point Inn Father’s Day Pancake Breakfast, 100 Old Railroad Grade, Mill Valley, June 15, 9 a.m.–1 p.m., westpointinn.com

SAILING SF Bay Adventures, 100 Bay Street, Slip 907, Sausalito, June 15, 1–3 p.m., sfbayadventures.com

ART Novato Festival of Art, Wine and Music; 37th Annual Fairfax Festival and Ecofest; and North Beach Festival, June 14–15, novatoartwinemusic.com, fairfaxfestival.com, northbeachchamber.com

SNOOPY Dads Free on Father’s Day, Charles M. Schulz Museum, 2301 Hardies Lane, Santa Rosa, June 15, 10 a.m.–5 p.m., schulzmuseum.org

BARBECUE Father’s Day BBQ at Cavallo Point, 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, June 15, noon–5 p.m., cavallopoint.com


Outdoor Film Fun

Enjoy an evening under the stars, watching the stars in classic family-friendly films. Film Night in the Park runs June through September. Arrive at 8 p.m.; the films begin at dusk and donations are appreciated. Bring blankets, pillows, backrests or low chairs. Refreshments, candy and popcorn are available. filmnight.org

Marin County Locations

SAN ANSELMO, Creek Park, 400 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard

FAIRFAX, Contratti Park, Broadway and Bank streets

MILL VALLEY, Old Mill Park, 300 block of Throckmorton Avenue

SAN RAFAEL, China Camp, Beach at Chinese Village, 899 North San Pedro Road


PLAY BALL

Winning the North American League in its first year, the San Rafael Pacifics enter season three ready to thrill crowds flocking to Albert Field. With a variety of food and beverage offerings — from hot dogs and organic wraps to ice cream and Equator coffee — the family is sure to have fun. Tickets start as low as $10. Season runs June through Labor Day. 1201 Second Street, San Rafael. pacificsbaseball.com

Categories: Summer Guide